Early 1890s  British Resident, Sir William Maxwell, formed the Selangor Gymkhana Club.



A land was secured at the right-hand side of the Ampang Road and Selangor Gymkhana Club changes its name to Selangor Turf Club.
On January 1, 1896, the Selangor Turf Club became a member of the Straits Racing Association.
March 1896 The Selangor Turf Club hosted its first race meeting. There were seven races per day over two consecutive days for each meeting.

The most prestigious race at that time was the Miner’s Purse with stakes money of $1,000.

The Selangor Turf Club inaugurated the thoroughbred griffin scheme with three lots being first imported from Australia.

1906 Membership of the Club had grown to 300 with each member paying a subscription of 15 dollar a year with an entrance fee of 10 dollars.
1914  to 1918 Club’s racing activities were curtailed during the Great War.
Races were more often run to raise funds for the War.
1939 The Selangor Turf Club introduced the Selangor Gold Cup, forerunner to the Tunku Gold Cup.
The Chairman reported a profit of $30,400.
1941 to 1943 Racing comes to a halt during the World War II.
1952 Race day attendance exceeded an average of 14,000. Turnover exceeded $70 million
1953 The Chairmanship of the Club was bequeathed to Dato’ Sir Clough Thuraisingham.
view more
1954 Radio broadcasts of race proceedings started.
1956 By 1956, horse racing had gained such a large following so much so that the old attap shed was deemed insufficient to house all the racing fans and was replaced by a modern grandstand, built at the cost of $1 million.
1957 The “Great Floods” prevented outstation horses from reaching the Club by land. Ferries were used to bring them in.
1959 Selangor Turf Club inaugurated the prestigious Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Gold Cup. Races were changed to Sunday instead of Wednesday.
1961 A fire broke out at the Griffin Inn and some horses broke loose. They were rounded up the following day.
1968 The Selangor Gold Cup was renamed Tunku Gold Cup in honour of Tunku Abdul Rahman, the country’s first Prime Minister.
1976 The totalisator was computerised. Three years later a new computerised sell-pay system was introduced.
1980 The Piala Emas Sultan Selangor was introduced to commemorate the birthday of His Royal Highness Sultan of Selangor.
1982 Computerised telephone betting was launched, replacing the manual system.
1983 Closed-circuit television coverage began, linking all clubs on the MRA circuit.
1985 The first Off-Course Centre was opened in Sungei Besi.
1987 The installation of a central computerized betting system linking Selangor, Penang and Perak turf clubs.
1988 The Club bought 255 acres of mining land in Sungei Besi for its relocation.
October 1989 STC hosted the Queen Elizabeth II Commonwealth Cup to commemorate the visit of Her
Majesty Queen Elizabeth II to Malaysia and the Club.A Class 1 handicap race was run over 1,600 metres with prize money of $250,000.  Entertainment XI won the race.
June 1990 Works began on the new Sungei Besi Racecourse.
August 1992 The last race was run at Jalan Ampang.
1993 The Chairman reported a record profit of RM8.67 million for 1992. In the same year, the first race was  run at the Sungei Besi Racecourse.
1994 On April 3, 1994, the Yang DiPertuan Agong Sultan Azlan Shah officially opened the state-of-the-art Sungei Besi Racecourse.  The STC Official Opening Commemorative Stakes, which carried RM350,000 in prize money, was won by The Mailman, owned by Auric Stable.
June 1996 The Selangor Turf Club celebrates its 100 Years Anniversary and a RM500,000 Centenary Cup was run.
2003 The Selangor Turf Club launched the Triple Crown Series carrying total prize money of RM3.5 million, making it the richest sporting event in the country.  The Triple Crown Series comprise of Tunku Gold Cup, Selangor Gold Cup and Piala Emas Sultan Selangor.
2005 Introduction of the Juvenile Million Challenge with prize money and bonus totaling RM1 million.
The challenge is opened to horses in the three and four years old categories and is run over three legs.
2006 The Selangor Turf Club celebrated 110 years of racing.
2007 Launched the 3 Year Old Malaysia DaMaCai Championship. There will be three 1200metres home-based heats in each Club with prize money of RM 80,000 per race followed by Championship final offering prize money of RM 300,000.
2008 Organised 2008 National Horse Show at Terengganu.
2009 Received The BrandLaureate Equestrian Sports Award by the Asia Pacific Brands Foundation.
2011 Organised 1 Malaysia National Horse Show at STC Equestrian & Sports Center.