Committee Members

Tan Sri Datuk Richard Cham Hak Lim, PSM, DMSM, PMW


Tan Sri Datuk Richard Cham Hak Lim assumed the Chairmanship of Selangor Turf Club from July 1, 2009. He also sits on the Totalisator Board of Malaysia as Chairman, a position appointed by the Ministry of Finance.  For the past decade, Tan Sri Datuk Richard has been an active contributor to the local horse racing industry and has held a number of positions like Committee Member of the Totalisator Board Malaysia and Malayan Racing Association, and in 2004, he was elected as the Chairman of the Technical Committee of the Equine Industry Development Project.  Over the years, Tan Sri Datuk Richard contributes immensely to the development of equestrian sports in the country and he was previously appointed as the Joint Chairman by the State Government of Terengganu for the National Horse Shows in Kuala Terengganu.  In appreciation of his contributions to charitable organizations, Tan Sri Datuk Richard was honoured with the Paul Harris Fellow Award by the Rotary Club Foundation.

Racing aside, Tan Sri Datuk Richard is a well-known figure in motor vehicle industry and is the Chairman to the Atiara and Advant Group of Companies.



Dato' Dr Chan Lam Kong, DIMP, KMN

Deputy Chairman

Dato' Dr Chan holds a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery from the University of Malaya in Singapore and is a Member of Academy of Family Physicians of Malaysia.  As a Medical Practitioner, he served in the Malaysian Government Medical Services before starting his own Private Medical Practice in Kuala Lumpur. He retired from medical practice in 1997.  

He joined the Selangor Turf Club as an Ordinary Member in 1989 and was first elected to the Committee in 1997. Dato' Dr Chan also sits on the board as Committee or Sub-Committee in the local racing fraternity like Malayan Racing Association (MRA), MRA Veterinary/Analysts Sub-Committee, Consultative Combined Committee of the three Malaysian Turf Clubs and serves as Chairman of the MRA Rules Sub-Committee. He is a Board Member of the Totalisator Board of Malaysia.  He was involved and instrumental in the revamp of the MRA Rules and Regulations of Racing from 2002 till 2006.  He was appointed as Deputy Chairman of Selangor Turf Club in 2009.  


Dato' Rick Loh Lap Sang, DPMT, AMN, MPHF

Committee Member

A graduate in Accountancy and Marketing, Dato' Loh started his career in Fitzpatricks Sdn Bhd and later moved on as Marketing Director of Socoil Corporation Berhad and as Managing Director of Sony Music Entertainment Group.  His vast involvement in the music industry sees him as Chairman of the Malaysian Association of Phonogram & Videogram Producers (MAPV) from 1985 to 1987, Chairman of Recording Industry Association of Malaysia (RIM) from 1996 to 1998 and Chairman of Public Performance Association of Malaysia (PPM) from 1998 to 2002.

Dato' Loh joined the Selangor Turf Club as Ordinary Member in 1994 and was later co-opted into the Committee in 1998. Besides having more than 30 years of experience in the horse racing industry, he is also a keen racehorse owner.  He has been a member of the Handicapping Sub-Committee since 2002.  He also sits as a Director and Audit Committee in a few KL Stock Exchange Listed Companies such as Kian Joo Can Factory Group and SM Summit Holdings Berhad.  


Y.A.M Tunku Dato' Seri Shahabuddin DK, SPTJ,  AO (Australia)

Immediate Past Chairman and Chairman of International Relations

Educated in Malaysia and in Belfast, Tunku started his career with Esso Malaysia Limited and then moved to Malayan Banking Group. He then started his own business, which during the years have seen him involved in manufacturing, oil & gas, trading, construction, finance and information technology. Tunku’s has been involved in the sports of horse racing for more than 40 years and out of which 20 years have been spent serving in various positions in the industry; became a Committee Member in 1992, Chairman of Selangor Turf Club in 1998 till 2009, Chairman of the Totalisator Board of Malaysia from 2000 till 2004 and Committee Member of the Malayan Racing Association.

Amongst the many accolades bestowed on Tunku was Honorary Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for service to Australian-Malaysian relations; and Austrade ‘International Businessman of the Year Award 2000’ for ‘outstanding contribution to Australia’s international trade by a foreign individual’.  


Mr Freddie Yow Tian Sak

Committee Member

Mr Freddie Yow joined the Selangor Turf Club as an Ordinary Member of the Selangor Turf Club in 1995  and later as a Committee Member in 2001.  He was previously attached to Motor Investment Group, which later expanded to become part of the Inchape Malaysia Berhad Group of Companies where he was in a Senior Management position in charge of Commercial Vehicle Group covering East and West Malaysia.  He later ventured into business of operating sand mines, trading of building materials and property development.  He has also been a Vice-President of Royal Selangor Club from 2002 to 2003 and also served in various positions like Election & Disciplinary, Entertainment and Human Resources.


Datuk Lai Kuai Weng, PJN

Committee Member

Datuk Lai joined the Selangor Turf Club as an Ordinary Member of the Selangor Turf Club in 2000 and was elected into the Committee in 2002.  A keen supporter of horse racing sports, he started as an amateur rider in 1970 and was rated as one of the top five amateur riders on the Malaysian circuit.  He was a member of the Malayan Amateur Racing Association.  Besides being a racehorse owner, he still continue to ride for leisure.  On his business life, he holds several portfolios as Executive Chairman and Director as authorized dealer of the National Car Proton and Import and Export business in China.


Dato’ Mohd Zain bin Yahya, DSDK, SDK

Committee Member

Dato’ Zain graduated from the University of Malaya with a Bachelor’s degree and subsequently served in the Civil Service for 32 years before retiring in 1996.  During his time in the government service, he has served in various capacities in the Ministries of Education, Housing and Local Government and the Prime Minister’s Department before transferring to RISDA (The Rubber Smallholders Development Authority) where he became its Director General in 1983.  His current business involvement is with the Kenso group of agro-based companies and in the construction business.  His love for the sport of horse racing started in 1990s and he is an active member of the Selangor Turf Club prior to being a Committee Member in 2005.


Mr Lim Eng Ho 

Committee Member

Lim Eng Ho holds a Diploma in Business Accounting and Commerce and runs his own Logistics Company over the last forty years.  He was also the Independent Non-Executive Director of Magnum Corporation Berhad, Magnum 4D Berhad and Magnum International Holdings Limited in Hong Kong for seven years until 2008.  He was also the Chairman of the Audit Committee of Magnum Corporation Berhad and Magnum 4D Berhad.  He was also the Past President of the Rotary Club of Kuala Lumpur DiRaja and the Assistant Governor of Rotary International District 3300 of Malaysia.