Malcolm Thwaites

Malcolm Thwaites is rated among the most successful trainers in Malaysian Racing history and has trained with success in eight different countries around the world for over 30 years.

Having first started his training career in America in 1980 where he trained his first winner, Malcolm then moved to train in Canada, before coming to Malaysia for the fist time in 1986. Malcolm trained his first Malaysian Group 1 winner in 1987 with a horse called Nostadamas which Malcolm also owned and a year later Malcolm trained the first of his six Singapore Gold Cup winners with Trend Defy in 1987.

Malcolm moved to set up his training base in Sinagpore and in 1998 has two runners in the Melbourne Cup, Peak Of Perfection and Three Crowns. Peak Of Perfection a week later ran 2nd in the Group 2 Sandown Cup beaten a neck at 100/1.

After being in Singapore for a number of years Malcolm moved again to Macau, Hong Kong, Dubai and Australia and is now back training in Kuala Lumpur where he is also the head of the Selangor trainers association.

Malcolm currently trains for one of the most successful owners in the world Dato Tan Chin Nam who has owned Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate, Oaks and Derby winners, and has enjoyed recent success with the stayer Book Of Kells


Held Trainers Licence since: 1980

First Winner: Miss Debra 1980 - Phoenix Arizona, America

Career Highlights: 45 Group 1 winners - Number 3 of all time, over 1000 career winners, 6 x Champion Malaysian Trainer

Singapore Gold Cup - 1988 Trend Defy, 1993 Navajo II, 1996 Zatopek III, 1997 Lucky Treasure, 1998 Three Crowns, 2003 Zirna

Singapore Airlines International Cup - 2000 Ouzo

Singapore Cup - 1999 Beyond Expectation, 2000 Ouzo

Singapore Derby - 1989 Istanbul, 1992 Peak Of Perfection, 1997 Peak Of Perfection, 1998 Ouzo, 1999 Par Excellence

Raffles Cup - 1993 Ouza, 2003 Zirna

Queen Elizabeth II Cup - 1993 Navajo II, 1998 A Class Above, 1999 Beyond Expectation, 2000 Ouzo

Lion City Cup - 1997 Fischer, 1999 Fischer

Singapore New Year 2000 - 2000 Ouzo, 2001 Our Aristotle

Silver Cup - 1995 Fischer

Pesta Sukan Cup - 1987 Nostradamus, 1989 Saugatuck

EW Barker Memorial Trophy - 2003 Storm Racer

Tunku Gold Cup - 1997 Peak Of Perfection, 1998 Ouzo, 1999 Peak Of Perfection

Agong Gold Cup - 1988 He's Dawn

Selangor Gold Cup - 1995 Fischer, 1997 Fischer, 1998 Fischer

Perak Derby - 1987 Nostradamus, 1998 Peak Of Perfection

Coronation Cup - 1987 He's Dawn, 1989 World Court

Sultan Gold Vase - 1995 Fischer

Yang Di Pertua Negeri Gold Cup - 1997 Ouzo

Penang Sprint Trophy - 1988 He's Dawn, 1995 Fischer, 1996 Fischer, 1998 Fischer

MRA Cup - 1992 Lady Archer, 1995 A Class Above

Best Horse Trained: Ouzo, Fischer

Current Best Horse: Novak


November 3 2012 - Novak